Printing Downloaded Models

Discussion in 'Tips, Tutorials & Tools' started by JRSeese, Feb 11, 2004.

1. JRSeese

JRSeese Member

I have downloaded a couple nifty models from generous websites, I just need to print the Adobe files. I have a DeskJet 710c color printer. From what I have read, I can print the sheets on 65# paper and be successful, pasting sections on thicker card as necessary.

Are there any tricks for getting high print quality, printing paper sizes other than 8.5 x 11, avoiding running of ink, etc... I am really new at this facet as well and would appreciate any advice.

I hear people talk about Photoshop, is it something I should invest in?

2. rickstef

rickstef Guest

Well, if you want to have high quality, invest in a better printer than the 710,

because you will get the odd idea of printing the kit on photo paper, and if you have an older generation printer, it will look kinda crappy

running out of ink is something every paper modeler experiences

As for Photoshop, you could, if you want to change a paint job on a model or change the size of something, you can use any graphic package for that too

the option is up to you, and stick around, you might learn something :p

3. wunwinglow

wunwinglow Active Member

You picked the right word, INVEST, when you mention Photoshop. It is very expensive; great program, but do you buy a Ferarri to take the kids to school? No. Unless you are a professional graphics artist and can get your employer to pick up the tab for it, there are loads of excellent software tools which will do everything you would need in terms of painting, recolouring, tweaking, rescaling, etc, at a fraction, or no, cost. Graphics packages come in two distinct flavours, vector and bitmap. You will eventually find both useful, but which ever you pick, spend some time getting to know how it works; like a grand piano, if you don't PRACTISE, it is just a fancy table to put a candelabra on. The piano, that is, not the software.