Printing A4 PDF file on Letter size paper ?

Discussion in 'Tips, Tutorials & Tools' started by Biased turkey, Jul 16, 2007.

1. Biased turkey

Biased turkey Active Member

Hi, I'm new to the Card Models subforum, it looks like people here are as much as friendly as on the model railroad subforum. Good thing.

I want to start my 1srt card model project. I downloaded the free sample ( a freight depot ) from Their printing tips section mentions that Scalescenes. com kits have been designed to fit on to A4 (210x297mm) size paper. Unfortunately I can't find any A4 paper here in Canada, only the regular letter size ( 8.5 ' by 11' ).
    When setting the printer parameters do I have to specify the A4 size even if the size of the paper that's in the printer has the 8.5' by 11' size ?
    I'm confused
    Tia for any help.
  2. Amazyah

Amazyah Senior Member

A4 size paper is not a whole lot different than our 8.5 x 11
    A4 is approximately 8.25 x11.75
    The problem with printing models designed to be printed on A4 is that sometimes the model parts will run right off the page.
    You can tell your printer to "fit to page" if this is an issue.
    You will likely reduce the scale by a few percent when doing that but it should not be very noticeable.

Another thing that you can do is tell the software to print at 100% and then do a print preview to see if the parts run off the page or not.
    Another way to preserve the ink and more expensive card stock is to print a fast economical print on copy paper to see if all the parts are on the page and/or within the borders.

Most designers design the layout to be printed on either type of paper though so most of them can just be printed straight out at 100%.

Hope this helps you out some and I know you are going to be addicted here shortly so, welcome to the fold!:twisted:

3. SCEtoAux

SCEtoAux Member