Power Packs

CAS

Apr 10, 2005
Chicago, Illinois
I am shopping for some power packs, or are they still called transformers?

All i have is some small transformer.
I went to www.modelretifier.com and saw a couple that i need some input on.
What you guys think about these i choose? I want to grow into them. I would rather spend the money now for a real good one, then use the one i have.

1 - Tech 4 MRC 260 with 20 Va + Momentum
2 - TrainPower 6200 60 Va.

I would really appreciate your true opinions on these, our can you recommend some other ones.

I will be using DC.

Thanks, Cliff

brokemoto

Jan 1, 2005
I assume that you are going to use DC and not DCC.

I do not use the packs that you mentioned.

I do use MRC packs, but I assume that the ones that I use are now out-of-production. This is not a big deal, as many places have them as NOS.

My favourite is the TECH II 2400. It has an ON-OFF pulse switch and is a reliable pack. I have some that I have been using for ten years: the MRC warranty is five.

Pooh Bah
Mar 25, 2002
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Visit site
CAS:
Technical terms: a transformer takes AC from the wall and produces lower voltage AC for the track. This is suitable for Lionel and American Flyer "toy" trains.
A power pack contains a transformer, a rectifier, a reversing switch and a speed control. This produces DC for the other trains. You can also get throttles which are power packs without a transformer. Some of them have extra fancy electronic bits in them.
The power of the packs you mentioned: Va is Volts x Amps (used to be called Watts). Divide this number by 12 to get the power in amps at 12 volts. Used to be, we consider a motor drew 1 amp. Newer ones draw less than 1/2 amp, maybe 1/4 amp. The 16 Va will be 1 1/3 amps which is one old loco or 2-3 new ones.

hooknlad

Mar 28, 2005
Woodbridge, NJ USA