Possible Layout for 4' x 1'

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by mullinyu, Sep 14, 2005.

1. mullinyu

mullinyu New Member

i'm a beginner and want to build my first SIMPLE one with the following features:

1. a complete cycle of rail
    2. village
    3. mountain with tunnel
    4. bridge

is it possible to do a limited size that at most 4' x 1'? therefore, i'm thinking of using Z scale. i want to use Kato for the track and rail stuff.

any comments?
  2. theBear

theBear Member

I haven't found any reference on Kato's US site to z scale at all.

MicroTrains and Marklin have z scale set track, however I couldn't find a radius small enough to fit in the 12" requirement. There is z scale flextrack that could be used.

Take a look near the bottom of this page for an idea or two:

4 x 1 can be done in z scale you might want to take some time and look over some small track plans to get a feel for what can be done.

I'm doing my work in n scale and the smallest set track radius I've got is 9.75" which makes a circle come in at 19.5" with some safety margin I'd call it 21".

I've seen flextrack take it down to 7.5" so with a safety margin you get 18" for a circle of track. Below that is possible provided the loco is a small one.

Here is a set of n scale plans to give you an idea:

The z scale set track comes in with a radius of about 7.7" if I used the correct conversion factor.
  3. Triplex

Triplex Active Member

Actually, doesn't Marklin offer a radius of about 5-1/2"? That would be cutting it a bit close, so flextrack would be preferable. What's limiting your space to 12" wide? Where is the layout going to be?

Kato doesn't offer any Z. (Ah, if only...)