Possible first attempt

Discussion in 'Scratchin' & Bashin'' started by dwyaneward, Sep 27, 2002.

1. dwyaneward

dwyaneward New Member

HI All,

First post here at The Gauge. Been watching from the sidelines for awhile.

I presently model N scale modern Diesel.

I am thinking of making some "Thall Well Car" as I have been unable to obtain some on ebay and LHS are out.

As I have no experience at this. I was hoping for some guidence from the Gauge group.

I have obtain the Nov. 2001 Modelrailroader and getting the Sept 2000 MR issue articles on well cars. Can you point me toward other reference info.

Do you feel this is obtainable in N scale for a newbie.

Thanks in advance for any and all replies
  2. billk

billk Active Member

3. dwyaneward

dwyaneward New Member

No way you can discourage me.

I know about Alan Curtis Model's but since his well car are not available yet.

I just thought I give it a try for now.
  4. cidchase

cidchase Active Member

5. dwyaneward

dwyaneward New Member

thanks for the info, I'll check it out.
  6. sumpter250

sumpter250 multiscale modelbuilder

Do you feel this is obtainable in N scale for a newbie.

I'll repost this photo from a post on the gauge I did some time back. The purpose is not to discourage you with the first results, but to show that we all learn by doing. The time span from the first model to the last is about 30 years. The materials went from balsa, in the first, to scribed basswood in the second, to styrene for the last. The models were done from a construction article in Model Railroader, published in 1960. That's when I did the first one.
    So, in answer, yes, it is obtainable, you have to start some time.

Attached Files:

7. dwyaneward

dwyaneward New Member

I am sure my talent for a first/second/... time scratch built car will be disastrous at least. This is a hobby and I am here to have fun good or bad.

Your picture is incouraging and I do have to start somewhere.