Point Loma Lighthouse (A beginner's Design/build)

Discussion in 'Architecture Models' started by bholderman, Feb 3, 2005.

1. bholderman

bholderman Member

Greetings all,

First, this is my first attempt to create any type of build thread, thus I may end up breaking a few rules inadvertantly, but please correct me when I do.

To begin, as both a card modeler and amatuer historian towards the city I live, I wanted to build something locally. Also, working for a blueprint company, I wanted to find out if there was something new and different that I could somehow offer a client. How about a nifty 3-d model for presentation purposes?

Yet, in order to accomplish this, I had to figure out how to convert a printed over-sized blueprint to a reasonably printed model. This takes me back to the historical side of things, experiment with something local. Thanks to simplicity of early 19th century California architecture, I found that there were many objects to choos from.

What I chose was the Pt. Loma lighthouse, which seems to have a fairly simply layout outside of the mantle (I hope). HABS-HAER had a collection of drawings for the lighthouse, thus my subject:

Here is a photo of the real lighthouse:

2. bholderman

bholderman Member

So, the first thing to manage was taking a raster .tif image and getting it into and editable format in AutoCad (an environment I'm comfortable with). Using a vectorizing program, all the sheets were traced and converted to a .dxf format with decent results except on fonts (see photo below).

These files were simply resaved as AutoCad .dwg files and are ready for editing and scaling. This will probably take a few days, so until then...

3. bholderman

bholderman Member

Finally got some of the basic forms down enough for a basic mock-up. You'll note that I haven't attenpteed the tower as of yet, hopefully this week.