plastics hauled in the covered hoppers

Dec 6, 2007
rbdhd.t35.com
I wanted to know what plastics hauled in the covered hoppers is like. Do the plastics get shipped as little pellets or round little bullets of some sort. What size would these pellets be and what would the pellet colors be? Would you find these spilled on the tracks near loading or unloading points? Also has anyone found anything good to model these loads? I'm just asking cause I may have found something that may work for such a load and I wanted to know if this may work. If so I'll spend the time needed to clean it from the mess it was found in.
Dave
:wave:

Pitchwife

Dreamer
Apr 23, 2001
The middle of nowhere Oregon
Visit site
I'm no expert, and really don't know much about the field, but whenever they show programs on the Discover Channel, et al, they have big vats being filled with the little pellets. It seems like it would make sense, having a consistent base product that the customer can process for whatever they are making.

DISCLAIMER: The person making this post has very little knowledge about how a very many things actually work and as such any information received from him is probably worthless. :cry: :p :mrgreen:

Herc Driver

Apr 18, 2005
North Carolina
The only info I can offer is from a "How Things Are Made" show - or some title like that - and it showed a hopper delivering what looked like 1" white pellets that would be heated and turned into the final product. But like Pitchwife's disclaimer (which is pretty funny IMHO) I've never seen these pellets or how they're delivered in person.

RonP

Member of the WMRC
I have worked around a few plastics shops putting in doors and such. I found the pellets to be small in these places like 1/8" to 1/4". The thing is this stuff came out of a big bulk box and not a car. It was grey and some was a white color.

So I hope that helps you.

Also maybe as a suggestion of a material to mimic what I am taking about could be kitty litter.

Uintah Dave