Photographing Models

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by milhistory, Jul 27, 2004.

1. milhistory

milhistory Member

Photographing Your Models

I am relatively new to this discussion group and am greatly impressed with the dedication of its members, especially those who offer many wonderful photographs of their construction progress. Without meaning to insult any of these folks, I have noticed that some of the photos could be improved with a little technique. For example, many close-up pictures are blurred and are hard on the eye.

Please accept this small tutorial as a way for me to give back to the group for all that I have taken so far by lurking and to improve some of our photographs.

Brad Arnold

Next Post: Flash
    d5j4vu likes this.
  2. milhistory

milhistory Member

Most of us know what flash does to our paper models. In short, it destroys them. I well-built model photographed with flash will look mangled and as if a three-year old put it together. Therefore, if possible, do not use flash. Below are examples of a model photographed with and without flash.

It is difficult to take a photograph inside without flash, so that will be the subject of another topic in this thread.

Photo 1: A close-up of the GPM JU-87 D-3 taken with flash.Ouch. You can see a lot of white as the picture is so stark.

Photo 2: The same model photographed without flash. It is generally pleasing, despite the fact that I did not add cockpit glazing.

Next Post: Tripods
  3. milhistory

milhistory Member

Since using a flash is usually a bad idea on paper models, it is best to photograph the models with plenty of sunlight. This means going outside. But since we can’t always go outside (rain and paper don’t mix well) and I am too lazy to go out anyway, we need to photograph our models inside, where the light is usually poor. Poor light means the camera will have to use a slower shutter speed to capture the subject, which will result in blurred photographs.