Perils and pitfalls... yeah, I'm a newbie.

LeeC

Mar 2, 2005
Hi peeps,
I know you've seen hundreds of "This is my first layout, help me" type posts but really, any advice or suggestions here would be much appreciated.

I am about 2 weeks into my starting building an N Gauge layout and after getting a couple of locos and some rolling stock, I am about ready to begin building. Here's my planned layout:-

layout_01.png

The room is about 9 feet square and I have decided U-shape to get as much in as I can. My layout is based round a twin long-distance line (the 2 round the edge) to get as much running length as possible, which surrounds a twin local line. I like to see interaction between trains so I wanted to run lines as pairs. I am thinking, left side is industrial (top left) and storage (bottom left)whilst right side runs to rural and inhabited... small village etc... The long-distance lines are all wide radius curves too, to avoid problems running the steam locos I want to run. I discovered that they don't like the narrow radius turns too much due to the long rigid running gear.

The top section will house the main station area feeding all 4 lines, with a station for the local service toward the bottom. I am trying to go powered for all the points to avoid reach problems and where possible I have put a straight section before points. Where this hasn't been possible, I have tried to run points of the widest radius curves to minimise de-railing.

I have designed the two seperate lines so that the outer lines on each can run pretty much uninterrupted whilst allowing the inner lines to pass trains into the sidings. I would have like to have fed the main yard (bottom left) from both sides but couldn't think of an easy way round it in the space available. I had been thinking a spiral into a lower storage but I think that the yard provides quite a valuable part of the appearance in a layout so I want to keep it if possible.