Pennsylvania N Scale mfg in 1970s-brand new

Helencalif

In 1981 I inherited a box of what appears to be a complete set of a Pennsylvania RR N scale model train. Most pieces are brown in color. One steam locomotive and coal car is black. Every single piece is still in its original box; the train was never put together. There are different locomotives. Some of the labels say "powered". The manufacturers are different; the purchase labels indicate they were purchased separately from different sources (hobby shops, model rr supply places, etc.) Names on the boxes are Con-cor, Atlas, Bachmann, Ahm, and Minitrix (West Germany). There are locomotives, different types of passenger cars, mail cars, box cars, flat cars, etc etc and at least one caboose. Can someone tell me what I have? Does anyone know about Pennsylvania RR N scale models made in the 1970s that were brown in color? I have been storing this box faithfully for 24 years. I would like to know more about what I have; I do not know anything about model railroads. I have a 5 year old grandson, but I don't think these items were made for small children. They seem to be precision-made for adult model rr hobbyists.
Thank you kindly for any information you might have.

N Gauger

1:20.3 Train Addict
Welcome aboard! :) :) There are probably a bunch of people in here that will be able to help you.. but...

You will need to give us a bit more information.. Most likely - on the end of each box is a description - of the model inside... :) That's what we will need. If you can, start with the engines & list them here - just "name" "Type" and manufacturer... then list 2 -3 different cars...

That "Brown color" is PRR Tuscan Red, I lived all my life within 1/2 mile of the Northeast Corridor in PA.. They ran from Washington DC to New York City.

After we figure out what you have, you may actually be able to put a current value on them.. :)