Peco Electrofrogs

ted

Dec 13, 2005
Hello

I am new to model railroading and am currently working on my first layout. I know this might not sound like the usual novice question, but I was thinking of using peco electrofrog turnouts (seems like a lot of people think they are a good thing), and DCC.
My question is:
The Wiring for DCC site indicates that modifications need to be made to use the electrofrogs with DCC (http://www.wiringfordcc.com/switches_peco.htm). But, at Loy's Toys, it says that the peco electroforgs should be fine as is (http://www.loystoys.com/peco/about-electrofrog.html).
Basically, it seems that Wiring for DCC is modifing the turnout to make sure that there is no short between the point rail and the stock rail, and be sure the point rail is powered adequately; but Loy's Toys seems to say that this isn't a problem with Peco turnouts. So, which is it?
I have to admit that I would be more hesitant to use the electrofrogs if they require a lot of modification. I am still trying to decide if the mods on "Wiring for DCC" are a "lot" for me.

Thanks - ted

Pooh Bah
Mar 25, 2002
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Visit site
Ted: as the Peco turnouts come, both points are electrically linked, so the open one is opposite polarity to the rail next to it. Supposedly, standard wheels will go through this gap without touching the point. But a number of people have found that some wheels do touch. This creates a momentary short circuit. On a DC layout, this either makes the train jerk a little or stops a slow train at the turnout. On a DCC layout this little short shuts down the entire district. I've seen this happen even with supposedly NMRA standard loocos (old Atlas SD9) which may have been loose wheels or something. Some wheels with fat flanges or narrow gauge wheels do the same.