PECO 3 way code 100 med turnout

Hudsonline

Feb 17, 2007
Has anyone used this particular turnout? I want to purchase this turnout, but cannot find out which switch machine to buy. Will the Atlas undertable switch machines work?

I have no experience with 3 way turnouts. I currently use Atlas turnouts and undertable machines to power them

zedob

Dec 26, 2004
Chicopee, MA
Wow, I'm rather surprised that no-one has responded to this thread because there are a lot of atlas ans Peco users here. I'm not an expert on either manufacturer, but I have used both, so I may be able to help. If anyone want to chime in, feel free.

Peco trackage is European and looks that way, so if you are worried about prototype looks you may want to use an American style track manufacturer. The older Atlas had big spike heads that look fairly close to Peco's Euroclips(lack of better name). I'd try to maintain styles. Check out Walther's line of code 83 track. It's made by Shinohara who manufactures a great reliable line of turnouts that are American styled. They should have a 3-way turnout available.

There's nothing wrong with Peco, infact, they make some of the most reliable turnouts out there and it is for that very reason that many layout builders spec Peco out for hidden storage and fiddle yards.

Peco also has a points toggle spring that is unique to thier company (as far as I know) that makes the turnouts stand alone not requiring a ground throw(finger sized switchstand). IF you are going to use a motor type of switch machine(Tortoise) to throw the turnout you need to remove the spring. I've never done it, but from what I hear it's a simple manuver. I don't think you would have to do it if you used a selenoid type of SM because it can overcome the spring's holding force, but you may want to do it anyway.

Hope this helps.

Hudsonline

Feb 17, 2007
Does anyone else make a 3-way turnout in code 100?