passenger trains

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by medic1772, Dec 5, 2004.

1. medic1772

medic1772 New Member

I'm wanting to build a passenger line.I was reading an article about rolling stockthat advised me to stay away from this on small layouts. I am new at this and do not want to create a lot of problems.Any advice will be helpful.I most likely going to have a 4x8 layout with 18 and 22 degree curves.I am using a Atlas beginers guide for info.I have no one in my area that model I am hoping to start a club and create intrest. Thanks Tommy
  2. kchronister

kchronister Member

I wouldn't let that advice get in your way, Tommy. Yes, it's hard to run passenger stuff prototypically on a small layout... But it's hard to run anything prototypically. I'd say if you lust for passenger cars, go for it! My only advice is on the physical level - stick to 60' "shorty" cars rather than more prototypical 80-85' cars. They'll run better on tight curves, tight grades and through smaller turnouts. They'll also simply look better on a small layout, where large passenger cars CAN look rather silly.

I have a very modest layout (about 10' x 12' L-shape) myself, prefer passenger to freight, and run both 60' and 80' passenger cars - though I find myself running the 60 footers more often as they run better and look a little less out of place.

My layout is mostly 22" radius, though I previously had an 18" setup and the 60' cars ran fine on it. I've never run the 80' cars on 18" radius, but suspect they'd have problems or at minimum look truly duncy.

Another option is to model civil-war era and use 4-4-0's and true "shorty" cars of that period, which will easily run (and look fine) on small radius curves. I have a 4-4-0 set that I run on occasion and always enjoy the little guy.

3. medic1772

medic1772 New Member