Painting/Weathering Track

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by fortresscast, Oct 11, 2006.

1. fortresscast

fortresscast New Member

Hi, I'm new to this hobby and close to building my first model railroad (HO Scale) on a tabletop. My main concern is which way to paint the track. I'm using Atlas Code 83.Do I do it like this (painting with a brush) or do I spray paint w/ rust brown and black? Also, is it better to paint/weather in place or separately (sectional track)? What about wiring and rail joiners if painted separately?Thanks for your suggestions!
  2. shaygetz

shaygetz Active Member

Welcome to The Gauge:wave:

Once everything is installed, I just slather on a coat of cheap craft paint from Wal-Mart called Nutmeg Brown then remove it with a small piece of wood shortly after it dries.

Attached Files:

3. Herc Driver

Herc Driver Active Member

Shaygetz - that looks too good. Really nice job mixing a bunch of materials in one place.

fortresscast - interesting screen name btw...I used Bachmann EZ track and painted it all by hand with a 00 brush. So I'd offer a suggestions to spray paint it first then put it on the layout. Took forever to paint my little layout twice (still needs a third coat). I should have sprayed it (and the ties) before I ballasted and mounted it to the train board. Save yourself a lot of tedious painting and spray it on!
  4. R. MARTIN

R. MARTIN Member

5. green_elite_cab

green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

I literally just painted every tie and rail idividually. it takes time, but if you paint it as you lay it, it goes by faster.
  6. 60103

60103 Pooh Bah