painting a old model train

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by shibby, Jul 8, 2004.

1. shibby

shibby New Member

I have an old model train I would like to airbrush cause I am bored when I'm not out paintballing[​IMG]

its a old toy one I have had for about 8 years simple plastic bodies that can be taken off the main chassis

What kind of scale would this be? the wheel tracks are about 1 inch apart and the engine is about 2-3 inches tall and 7-8 inches long? (cant you guess I am new to this)

but anyway I want to paint it and all 4 other cars with it into some kind of theme like flames or maybe my website for r/c cars g-bilt R/C

what kind of paint is best for use in an airbrush? and whats the best kind of clearcoat?
  2. ddavidv

ddavidv Member

Not sure where you're measuring the track width, but I'd guess HO. However, before you paint anything, find out what you've got. I'd hate to see you paint up some rare American Flyer train that's worth $500. :eek:

If you've used an airbrush before, you know the paint has to be thinned down quite a bit. Any enamel will work. If you want to use a laquer, you're going to have to prime it with enamel first, as lacquer will eat most plastics. Virtually all hobby paints are enamel. I would stick with model car or train paints as they are better designed to work with airbrushes and plastics that are typically used. There are a lot of interesting colors in the model railroad line, but they are generally flat and not gloss paints. You can add gloss to them as a finish coat, however, and probably get the shine I think you are looking for.

Sacrilege to many on this site, probably, but customizing comes in many different forms. :cool: Look around here a bit at some of the modelling photos and you may get some ideas. Model RRing is a great hobby with many ought to give it a try. :thumb:
  3. MasonJar

MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

Hi Shibby,

Welcome to The Gauge...!