Orlik PBJ-1H Mitchell

Bomarc

Hello everyone.

I'm somewhat new to the Zealot Forums, having spent the majority of my paper model forum time on Papermodelers.com, but thanks to my time there, I recognize a lot of names here, so perhaps I'm not a total stranger. For those who don't know me or don't visit PM's forums, I'm currently building Orlik's PBJ-1H Mitchell in 1/33rd scale (links appearing below in my signature line which will tell the whole story).

Our good friend Mr. Taft has suggested to me that an abridged version of this build might be of interest here. I hesitate to do this, as I wish to avoid being redundant, but if there is interest with those unfamiliar with this build, I offer what follows as a "Readers Digest" version of sorts to give you a small taste of what I've been up to over at PM. Started this past August, it's a (ridiculously) long thread over there, and the photobucket folder I use for it currently contains 860 images.

In a nutshell, I started with a single engine cylinder from the kit:

IMG_2007.jpg

That lead to completed engines:

IMG_2403.jpg

IMG_2404.jpg

Then cowlings:

IMG_2435.jpg

IMG_2434.jpg

Propellers:

IMG_2449.jpg

IMG_2543.jpg

Nacelles:

IMG_2496.jpg

IMG_2549.jpg

Wings:

IMG_2606.jpg

IMG_2632.jpg

IMG_2631.jpg

Fuselage (don't even get me started on the fuselage):

IMG_2694.jpg

IMG_2914.jpg

IMG_2923.jpg

IMG_2953.jpg

Empenage:

IMG_2933.jpg

IMG_2937.jpg

Nose guns and 75mm cannon:

IMG_3096.jpg

IMG_3107.jpg

Control surfaces:

IMG_3492.jpg

IMG_3493.jpg

And finally, cockpit and canopy:

IMG_3507.jpg

IMG_3509.jpg

IMG_3512.jpg

IMG_3513.jpg

This last pic should give a notion on how a lot of the above plays together at the moment:

IMG_3515.jpg

Needless to say, lot's of stuff happened in between. :rolleyes:

Presently I'm framing the outer canopy using a technique suggested to me by Major Davenport (a member here I believe), wherein one separates the layers of card, leaving a thin printed part behind: