Old West

Cookie

Dec 5, 2004
Modeling the old west in HO...any suggestions on where I can see websites etc. to help fill in the gaps for ideas??

Will_annand

Jan 12, 2004
Huntsville, Ontario
www.muskokacomputes.com

jetrock

Dec 18, 2003
Visit site
The old west is a big, big area to model!! Can you be any more specific about exactly where and when you'd like to model?

Cookie

Dec 5, 2004
information

Thanks for the informatiion. What I am modeling is a "make it up as you go" thing. I have a small layout (4x8)......half being western and the other half being a logging area so both areas will be small and in all probability very packed in. I am a retired art teacher and my wife and I travel quite a bit out west during the summer and it just "seemed like the right thing to model". I really am not trying to model any area in particular....I just enjoy the western flare.

Again ..thanks for the info.

ezdays

Out AZ way
Feb 3, 2003
Arizona
bigbluetrains.com
spitfire said:
Of course if you travel out west you've probably been to Old Tuscon.

Val
Val,

Old Tucson had a fire a few years ago an they lost around 90% of their buildings. It's since been rebuilt but I'll bet it isn't the same now. Apacheland, just outside of Phoenix also had a large fire about a year ago. They shot a lot of movies and TV shows there. They've taken the lower road and sold the property to developers rahter than rebuild. There are several other western "theme" parks around here that are being sold out to developers as well. So goes the way of the wild, wild west. :cry: :cry:

Doc Holliday

Oct 27, 2002
Big Valley, California
Cookie,
Welcome to the Gauge. I'm always pleased to see a fellow Old West fan. As my name implies, I'm also an Old West enthusiest, modeling the rough and ready cow town of Defiance, circa 1885.

To the others, thanks for the great links. I've spent quite a bit of time searching the net for inspiration and only came up just a fraction of the resources you've posted
here.