O scale nubby

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by Goddahooch, Feb 22, 2007.

1. Goddahooch

Goddahooch New Member

Hello to all and thanks for letting me in.

I'm a freelancer and have recently landed a job to make train layouts for a client.
    Dont know beans about o scale. Have not done model traind since childhood. I'm an excellent capenter and model builder, and technically able to do wiring and sculpting so it should be allright. I lack basic knowledge of model railroading. IE. what type of track is best, whats the turning radius of a curved track? Controllers? max slope? Can anyone recommend a good reference book or magazine. Need to learn fast, no time to read a bible on the subject. Is there a cliff notes or railroading for Dummies?

Many thanks.

I mean no disrespect towards the model railroading community! I'm trying to make a living and have a family to feed.

2. Dave Farquhar

Dave Farquhar Member

Are we talking 2-rail O scale or 3-rail? The best suggestion I have for 3-rail is "Wiring Your Toy Train Layout" by Peter Riddle. Pretty much everything it covers is stuff that you're going to run up against right away anyway. I think it's about 100 pages, so it's not too long. You may be able to find it, or its predecessor, Wiring Your Lionel Layout, in your local library.

Of course the track is a matter of religious debate. If you're building a layout for someone, I'd suggest finding a starter set that they like and sticking with the track that comes with it. That'll get you a jump start, and it's an economical way to get a lot of the stuff you're going to need in one shot. Curve radii depend on the track you're buying.

Hopefully this puts you in the right direction. Feel free to ask more questions as they come up.
  3. jefelectric

jefelectric Member