O gauge track question

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by patfield, Jul 18, 2006.

1. patfield

patfield New Member

I bought a Lionel O gauge Alaska railroad set that came with Fastrack. Will my train operate on regular 3 rail track? I would like to make a layout on a 4x8 plywood but will need to get some more track. I see lots of track on auction on Ebay but am afraid to bid because I don't know what type of track will work. Is all 3 rail track electrified? Also, will my fastrack attach to other types of track? Sorry to sound so clueless but I am just getting into the hobby. Any info would be appreciated.
  2. spankybird

spankybird OTTS Founder

Yes your train will work on either 027 tube track or O gauge (031) tube track. Lionel does make an addaptor piece for Fastrack to O gauge track, but not for 027 track.
  3. patfield

patfield New Member

Thanks for the info Spankybird. I will see what track I can find at a reasonable cost. I will probably have lots of questions once I start getting the layout going.
  4. RXRron

RXRron New Member

Buy the fastrack it's the best and so easy to use
  5. spankybird

spankybird OTTS Founder

IT is far from the BEST and is very noisy and costly. :cry:
  6. Geno

Geno Member

I have qiute a bit of 027 track- I kept it instead of going to fastrack for the same reasons. O27 track is only available from Lionel in 042 and 054 curves, the switches come in 027 and 042 curves. The fastrack has the advantage of coming in 036, 048, 060, 072 and 084 curves, and having more switches-036, 060, 072. I'd order it from a big discounter like Charles Ro or Justrains- they've got better pricing on the Fastrack any any hobby store.

7. Brian R.

Brian R. Member