NS or Brass track?

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by MontanaHOKid, Dec 6, 2006.

1. MontanaHOKid

MontanaHOKid New Member

Hi Everyone,:wave:
    I am a newbie to the gauge and to the hobbie. I am getting to start my first layout and have some questions about track. Brass or NS. I know that NS is better but I have a lot of brass and would like to try to keep cost down and not buy all new track:cry: . Also, should I replace all track where possible with flex to eliminate joiners and electrical headaches.:curse:
    Wow these little faces sure are "cute"
    Thanks all.
  2. LongIslandTom

LongIslandTom Member

Save yourself the cleaning headaches and go with Nickel Silver from the start.

With brass you will drive yourself nuts cleaning the rails every week. :curse:
  3. 65GASSER

65GASSER Member

I have a hundred or so pieces of brass track thats about to go on ebay. That and a few other things. :wave:
  4. cidchase

cidchase Active Member

So Montana, wanna buy some more brass track?

Let me hook ya up with the Gasser!!:D :D :D
  5. 65GASSER

65GASSER Member

sign1 190+ pieces and its all on ebay under my name. (not pugging it tho)

I don't have a use for the track right now. Personally I would go with NS and flex just for my own reasons. If I could afford to anyway.
  6. KCS

KCS Member

I agree with everyone here. NS is the best way to go. As for the rail color in detail purpose it can be done with NS but brass will have you pulling your hair out before you know it. I used a couple of pieces of brass flex track 7-8 years ago. I took it out and set it on fire. Then cut the rail up and made load's out of it. As far as cleaning as Tom say's. It could even be more than once a week depending on what kind of climate you live in. I was cleaning that junk 3 times a week at times durning the summer months. about once or twice a week during the winter depending on how much running was being done.
  7. Jim Krause

Jim Krause Active Member