Noob here, give me your thoughs

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Coltboostin, Nov 9, 2004.

1. Coltboostin

Coltboostin New Member

Hi, I am new to this site, and I honestly just came on to sell my old n gauge junk that I have not used in 5 or so years now. I was into Model trains, but that was befor I knew how to drive. Since then, it has all gone down hill. My father made me take down my set, and the rest is history.
    FFWD to now, and I am one of the youngest members of a growing import racing industry. I will be 21 this month, and now my father is gone, I am part of a growing performance shop, and my personal car runs 11.1@132mph, all on stock internals, 4 cylender. For those of you who know anything about cars, you know what I am talking about.

Anyways, as I said I came here to try and dump my crap, but I was checking out some pics, and I dont know if I sould just make a little layout for myself somewhere, or go with my original plans. I remember how much fun it used to be, but I will say up front I will not have time for anyhting very labor intensive with this. The only reason I may have time to put up a set is the upcoming winter. What do you guys suggest?
  2. Woodie

Woodie Active Member

Winter = "BBBBBBBRRRRRRRR" = stay indoors = build a little layout. :) :thumb: :wave:
  3. Ray Marinaccio

Ray Marinaccio Active Member

I would suggest cleaning up your trains and setting up a small temporary layout just to see if the thrill is still there.
    Don't spend a pile of money on new locos and such or design a complex layout until your sure you want to continue with the hobby. Then if you decide to continue, dive in. If not, you haven't wasted any money.
  4. spitfire

spitfire Active Member

Hi Coltboosting, and welcome to the Gauge. Funny thing about model railroading - one look and you're just about hooked again!!!
    Ray's advice is excellent. Maybe you could set up a little Christmas layout. See how you like it and go from there.