Newbie with Questions

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by Acipiter, Jan 1, 2007.

1. Acipiter

Acipiter New Member

I am reposting this as a separate thread at someone's suggestion.

I am just getting started in model railroading. Kind of like a mid-life crisis maybe. (It is much cheaper than a new sports car- I hope). Anyway, I am trying to identify a starting point for reading up on the basics. (Suggestions are welcome as a book for beginners). I had HO trains as a boy, but I know nothing about all the changes in the hobby except for what I have picked up surfing the internet for a few days. That is how I found this forum.

I have been talking about model trains for a while but had not taken the plunge. For Christmas, my wife bought me what appears to be a nice train set- the Frontiersman by Spectrum/Bachmann. The engine is DCC equipped (I don't yet fully understand what all that means. The package says that that additional equipment has to be purchased). It comes with a standard powerpack.

In one thread one person wrote:

"I recommend getting some Atlas engines. They run a lot nicer than the standard Bachmanns and some DCC-equipped Atlas locos can be had for a good price."

Am I starting off on the wrong foot with the Bachmann? This set came from a local hobby shop and cost about $200. I have not opened it so I think I could return it. I do like the older vintage engine as a starting point.

Am I better off going with a standard DC eqipped and adding DCC once I know what I am doing?

What Companies offer a steam loco? I did not see one on the Atlas site.

I welcome any suggestions. Thanks.
  2. pgandw

pgandw Active Member