Newbie with curve radius questions

obikonopa

Hello all,:wave:

I am new to model railroading and wanted to see if I could get some help on a few questions about curver radius... I own the Bachmann 2-8-0 Outside Frame Consolidation, I know that in the box it states the mininum curve radius to be 22 inches (I have read elsewhere that it can be as little as 18in.).

What I would like to know is:
1) when figuring the radius is it from the "center point" of curve to the -inside rail? -centerlinde(CL)? or -outside rail?
2) when Bachmann figured the minimum curver radius: does this mean the engine can take the curve at -low speed? medium speed? high speed?

I am working on my track plan and it seems to me that a 22" radius is pretty darn big(a 22" radius circle would take up almost a half a sheet of 4X8 plywood) so, How do you reach the back of the curve? with a lift out section(I would like to avoid this if possible)? I have an 8.5' X 11.5' room, the layout will be approx. 11.5' X 3' (except where I have the curves), it will be "L" shaped, and be a continuous loop type as opposed to a point-point. I will also have a work bench in the same room in one corner so I can work on my trains and other things. I like the look of my layout but these curves just seem GI-NORMOUS to me. So the smaller I can make them and still have my train steam around them at a good speed the better, A good speed be important because right now my layout is mostly curved track - there are two curves of more than 180degrees and one a little more than 90degrees. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated. Regards, Obi

pgandw

Radius in all except O 3 rail is measured to the track center. This means you need at least a 4ft width to swing 22 inch radius curves - leaves 2 inches to the edge for overhang, half of track and roadbed, etc. It does NOT leave much room to prevent your prize from seeking the lowest point of equilibrium available (the floor) in the event of a derailment.