Newbie-Securing/Installing Track ?

etraindude

Feb 27, 2007
Hello all and I hope 2007 is going well for all of you!

This is my first post and question on this forum...have mercy on my lack of knowledge :)

I am a beginner and setting up an N gauge setup. I did some Model railraoding when I was young but....
I forgot how I need to secure the track and I have done MANY searches without an answer to my specific questions.

I have a base setup and it is covered with woodland scenics grass. I have the layout of the track setup on it the way I would like but have not secured to anything. Basically temporarily put together to test the layout but not attached to anything,just lying their!

What steps do I take to secure the track? Do I take up the temp layout and the lay the roadbed? I have the woodland scenics trackbed.

How will I make the curves with the straight trackbed? What is the best way to seccure the track to the roadbed?

I basically am looking for some step by step to explain how, and in what steps do I lay the trackbed and secure the track.

And also, I hope that as I learn I can contribute to the group!

etraindude

YmeBP

Dec 3, 2006
Southern New Jersey
www.skyersfamily.com
I've had the same dillema when i started back in decemeber:).

What i've learned from reading and asking similar questions is glue .. lots of it ;).

http://www.nmra.org/beginner/
This link is basically where i got most of my direction, specifically this part about laying the track:

http://www.nmra.org/beginner/track.html

Roadbed: