newbie: realistic decoupling, prototype operations?

chapmro

Jan 8, 2007
Hello all:

I am a newbie here -- my son and I have sort of gotten into N scale 'by accident' -- we found a dusty box of 1980's vintage Atlas cars in a house my parents bought. Rather than throw them out, we got some Kato Unitrak and set up a layout on the living room floor... that layout has grown (4'x8', 4 turnouts, two loops of track) and are now planning bigger things. I've been reading Tony Koester's book on operations, and some other things, including a 1975 Southern Railway Operating Rules manual, but there's something basic I really don't understand: decoupling. I think Koester assumes you already know how to do this, as do all the other books I've looked in. Web search and searching this forum haven't revealed anything either, but I'm sure this is a very basic question. If it's been covered recently, please just point me to the appropriate thread.

We are trying to figure out how to uncouple cars, say to spot or pick up at a siding or run-around. There are two levels to this question. First, can someone point us to a more basic guide to freight operations than Koester's book, either prototype or model, or preferably both that tells us what order to do things in.