Newbie looking for help with MTH layout

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by atjurhs, Jun 28, 2004.

1. atjurhs

atjurhs New Member

Hi All,

I am fairly new to this, and I need a little help putting together a track layout. I currently have a full circle of O54 MTH track and six 10" straight sticks that together form an oval. I would like to put together a track layout that can reverse directions on the outer O54 loop. So this means that I need to either utilize an "X" crossing or to have an inner loop with a spur back to the main outer loop. Either way it means four switches. What I need help planning is what size swithes do I need to get: O42, O31, or O27? Well the answer to that really depends on a lot of other factors. Without spend $80 on MTH's RealTrax software, or making lots of trips to my local train store, how do I go about figuring this stuff out?
  2. Greg Elems

Greg Elems Member

First, if you want to keep the same basic dimensions, you will have to measure the straight section on the switches. How long are they? Then it would be a matter of substituting the switches for the straight track. Also the straight track can then be used for the inside of your loops. You may have to buy some half or quarter sections to make it work. IMHO, I'd look at using O54 switches, if available. Otherwise O42 would be the way to go. Also you will need a 90degree crossing and this is where your smaller sections of straight track will come into play. The idea behind the O54 switches is to make it easier to match the curves on the outside oval with the inside loop.

3. atjurhs

atjurhs New Member

Greg, I'm not sure I follow your track layout. Is this a pure figure 8 with two straight section to form the outer oval? If so, how does that require a 90* crossing? Can you send me a simple drawing of what you're thinking?
  4. Greg Elems

Greg Elems Member