newbie here

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by cdmdad, Nov 2, 2006.

1. cdmdad

cdmdad New Member

hello all, i have been floating in and out of the forum, but this is my first post. i am new to this and will be running HO scale. not sure of the complete layout yet, as i may add more table to build onto, but this is the table as it stands as of today. your thoughts appreciated.

2. cdmdad

cdmdad New Member

ummm, can't post pics, let me try again.

Attached Files:

3. cdmdad

cdmdad New Member

that's better. sign1
  4. shaygetz

shaygetz Active Member

Welcome to The Gauge, Chris:wave:
  5. TrainNut

TrainNut Ditat Deus

You will probably want to add some cross bracing to the legs to help with your wobble problem and you may want to add some supports underneath to keep your surface from warping once you start putting weight onto it.
  6. cdmdad

cdmdad New Member

cross bracing coming tomorrow, tonight i'm tired. the whole underside is supported though. i have 2x3's running under most of it, with 2x4's making up the rest of the frame.
  7. mscwolf

mscwolf New Member

Hi! I'm also a newbie to the hobby, although I've done scenery for tabletop wargaming for over ten years. My family & I are going to try and build a HO scale layout in our basement - our first one. We've been reading books & watching the Model Railroading DVDs, we hope to start our table after Christmas, once we've agreed to a track plan!
    Your table looks good & I hope to follow you... keep it up!
  8. kchronister

kchronister Member

Welcome CDMDad. I think the cross-bracing other have recommended will fix your wobble. I had the same problem, and cross bracing instantly eliminated it.