Newbie here. HO Scale or N Scale?

luigi

:wave: Hello. I am new to the gauge,and this hobby. My dad used to set up an HO Scale setup for me when I was a kid, and well I,ve gotten the bug.
I guess this is probably a tough question to ask, but I'm having a hard time trying to decide wether to set up an n scale or HO scale. Can someone please note some pros and cons to the two of them. I'm pretty much starting from scratch,and have not purchased either setups yet. I have visited this site quite often and really like it. Many of you have some awesome layouts,and are an inspiration to get this fire started.:thumb:

shaygetz

Welcome to The Gauge:wave:

I prefer HO and do most of my model work in that scale. However, for an operations oriented layout in the available space, N is hard to beat. Couple that with an N scale layout that was given to me last year and I now have two scales in my house.

N

nachoman

a few questions for you:

1) How much space do you have?

2) what time frame/era do you think you enjoy most?

3) Do you like to scratchbuild/detail/kitbash?

If I was modeling diesel era, and had less than about 10x10' space, I think I would go with N scale. If you are more interested in steam engines, there is definitely much less available in N, especially for smaller steamers.

kevin

luigi

Well, space is not a huge issue for me. I have a partially undevelopment basement right now. I was thinking about 2x 4'x8' sheets of plywood together shaped to form an L, or maybe a u shaped design.
As far as era goes I prefer the 50's and 60's. I thought about doing mountain scene with small town. I don't mind kit bashing. I'm just thinknig that I can fit more in N scale on this platform than I would be able to in HO Scale. Thanks.

who_dat73