Newbie help? - switches in conflict

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by randow, Mar 2, 2005.

1. randow

randow New Member

I'm pretty new to the three-rail "thing", after working with HO-gauge years ago. My problem is this...

I've got a 4-switch MTH-brand layout, with 2 switches working fine. The other two, which join on the curved sides, seem to short out when activated, regardless of what I do. I've tried track power vs aux power, wired toggles and DCS. If I physically move the switches to other locations, they work, so I'm fairly sure it's something with the layout. I understand blocking and such on two-rail layouts, but I thought that three-rail was immune to that.

I have attached a quick diagram with 4 switches indicated. Number 2 and number 4 are in conflict. Interestingly, if I disconnect the tract between them, the problem goes away and both switches work. Is there an approved way to insulate the two from each other, or is there a better way?

Any help would be appreciated.

2. randow

randow New Member

Sorry. It appears that the diagram didn't attach. The two faulty switches are connected by an s-curve and the "turn sides" are connected. This causes them each to use opposite rails as ground, I guess.
  3. randow

randow New Member

Update: here's the layout diagram

Thanks for the help on the image, which should now be attached

Attached Files:

4. N Gauger

N Gauger 1:20.3 Train Addict

Ok - It's not a switch problem :( Follow the track from 2 through the turnout to "4" Then follow the path the engine would take to "1" then it would go around that left hand turn Back To "2"....

This is a loop - You cant do that inside a layout without plastic rail joiners, The easiest way to fix it is to turn one of the switches around Either "1' or "2'

Move switch 3 to either 1 or 2 and that should fix it.
    Just swap either pair (1 & 3 ) or (2 & 3) and that should do it.