newb with questions

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by xyzon, Dec 6, 2004.

1. xyzon

xyzon New Member

The title says it all. I am new to model trains. I can remember having a set as a child that my dad would setup in the basement around Christmas. It was a very simple setup, one huge oval.

I am now a lot older and want to get into model trains. I do have a few questions. Please forgive me if any of these are a rehash.

For starters I have decided to go with the HO scale. They aren't too big or too small and seem to be very popular.

I don't really know what size area I am wanting to build on, is that important to figure out before buying anything or can that be worked with later?

I don't know exactly where to start or what to buy. I would like to get a good "starter" set, but I don't want it to be "fisher-price-y". I would like to be able to add on to it rather then having to buy another set to replace the beginner set.

I read that Lionel trains will only work with Lionel tracks, is that right? I don't know if I would go with them, I just don't want to be stuck with a certain type of setup that cannot be intergrated with another type.

One more question. I haven't been able to figure out what the numbers for the locomotives stand for. For example 0-4-0 ... can anyone clue me in please?

I am in no rush to buy anything just yet. I have been thinking about doing this for the past two years but didn't know where to start. Thanks in advanced for all info and help.
  2. Alan B

Alan B Member

What little Lionel HO there is will work on the standard HO track.

I prefer Atlas track and Peco switches. Get the nickel silver track and switches. MRC makes good DC powerpacks. DCC is for another day. But, if you are looking for a good low cost DCC system, the Atlas Master is very good. There are some bargains on the Roco LokMaus 2 system, and it's very good as well.