Newb question about track wiring

Dorkmaster Flek

Jan 5, 2007
Toronto, ON
I'm just getting started in HO scale stuff, but previously I setup O27 scale layouts with our family around Christmas, that sort of thing. The O27 track was easy to wire because we had those metal connectors that clip on the bottom of a piece of track and they have those two connectors for the wires where you push them down, insert the end of the wire and it pinches them in place when you let them go. But HO track is not quite as simple it seems. I'm sold on the Flex Track stuff, it looks great and everybody seems to use it quite a bit and is very happy with it. My question is how do you actually connect the wires to the track? :p I've seen people discuss soldering the feeder wires to the metal track joiners, but what about the rails themselves? Are there any sort of connectors specifically designed for hooking up wires to the track like those O27 ones? Looks/realism isn't a primary concern of mine (at least not yet), ease of use/installation is more important so I don't care if they're ugly. :)

LongIslandTom

Apr 8, 2006
Long Island, NY
You can just buy these:

842.gif

Atlas makes those. They are terminal joiners. Hope this helps!

jetrock

Dec 18, 2003
Visit site
Normally when one doesn't use the terminal joiners, or the Atlas terminal strip which has screw connectors to connect power to the track, wires are soldered directly to the rail--ideally once every few feet, in order to ensure good electrical connection. It takes a little practice to avoid melting the ties sometimes. The terminal joiners are probably your best bet.

Dorkmaster Flek

Jan 5, 2007
Toronto, ON
Awesome, and I'm guessing the other ends of the wires are just ends that can be connected/soldered to whatever power source you have, correct? Also, what gauge is the wire for these connectors? Is it thick enough to be connected to a power supply, or should it be connected to a main bus wire?