new tunnel portal

N

nachoman

completion of this tunnel portal means I can finally make some major advancements to the scenery on this corner of my layout. So far, I have just added bits of ground foam and some sand, but tall grass and cactus should be coming shorty ;) I am still devising ways of making ocotillo and century plants.

the portal itself is made 100% from illustration board. I painted it using model master "wood" then a washes of gray, grayish brown, and black, and some matte finish spray. I think it looks sufficient.

kevin

Attachments

• layouttunnel.jpg
    layouttunnel.jpg
    42 KB · Views: 27

darius28z

Nov 27, 2005
im a newbie intersted in how you wash is this with acylics and if so how is it done i asume you sprayed it first with spray paint right then,how did you do the rest??

N

nachoman

well, it is built with illustration board - available at art supply stores - basically thicker poster board. The portal and sides are large pieces scribed into individual boards, with thin strips of illustration board glued to the front as framing". I brush painted the whole thing, being sure to stroke the brush in the long direction of the boards to simulate grain. The washes were just acrylic paints thinned heavily with water and a little alcohol, probably thinned about 10-1. I applied the gray and brown washes with a brush, again applying lengthwise along the "boards". The black wash was streaked vertically, to simulate soot and grime that has washed downward.

kevin

doctorwayne

Sep 6, 2005
Canada, eh?
Kevin,
Nice job: you've really captured the colours right, it really does look like wood. Did you scribe the illustration board or cut it into illustration board "boards"? Either way, very effective, and in my opinion, much better than merely "sufficient".

Wayne

zedob

Dec 26, 2004
Chicopee, MA
semi on topic

Hi Kevin,