New to trains need help bad

Irocian

I have just started into the model train world and need some basic help to get me started. Do all HO tracks work together? I mean by that does flex work with non-flex? Should i only use a certain type of track? How many power units do i need to run say 4 tracks? I just bought the Monopoly Bachmann HO train set and also HO 36" flex track 10 pieces, and also soon more tracks but i think they're not flex track, is this a problem? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I bought this to get my 1 year old son involved att a early age as i always wanted a train set when i was a kid buit had to wait till now when i'm a big kid.

Thanks

Clerk

I am no expert on this but I know some modelers have mixed flex with fixed track so I assume it can be done. Just don't mix code 55 with code 80 or 100. This is my opinion.
Sombody else will probable come on here with better information.

Good Luck

pcentral

Hello and welcome to the gauge,
You have come to the right place my friend. While I do not currently model in HO, I can point you in the right direction. The flex track is the best as it allows you to do more custom track plans and less joints between tracks. Less is more in this case, less joints more electrical conductivity. Hopefully your flex track is nickel silver, this is better more conductivity and stays clean longer than brass track. You can use sectional (solid) track with your flextrack with no problems, just be sure you mount the track to something. I also would recommend using Atlas switches. They may cost a little more than some but I rarely had a problem with anything from Atlas. It is better to spend a few dollars more now than have to go back later and upgrade something, this includes the benchwork. I know someone here can help you in more detail but this , like I said, will point you in the right direction. Lastly, congratulations on joining the worlds greatest hobby! Steve

Railery