new to this...

Discussion in 'RC Drifting and Setup' started by Vash1275, Nov 9, 2005.

1. Vash1275

Vash1275 New Member

hey im new to this,
    i have a 1:10 (maybe 1:12) (17 inches long) scale viper r/c and i was wanting to know what tips you guys could give me to make it a good drifter.

i will change out the body later.
  2. Asinine

Asinine New Member

I'm kinda in the same boat, and my next step is getting some zero traction wheels so that i can drift.

after that i assume it's practice makes perfect and some upgrades and modifications as necessary and skill improves
  3. Vash1275

Vash1275 New Member

wow, i just tested it out for the first time and i the front tires keep spazing out like no tomorrow. i found i can over drive it so it wont bother the steering too much but its annyoying and wears down battery life.

any ideas as to WTF thats about?

and im running slicks on it, should i get new tires?
  4. Vash1275

Vash1275 New Member

well, after more test driving i found:

the wheels stop spazing out once you floor it about 3 times (no idea what that is about).

the suspension feels tight to the touch but the body roll is apparent.

the rear tires have no grip off launch but have too much grip around turns, it seems to slip out just a little and holds its self right on the edge of spinning with out any need for counter steer.

if i turn the wheels in and slam reverse and then get back on the gas i can make it slip out but it has too much traction to slide or spin around. it only does 180's and then grips the road again.

my guess is new tires and stonger springs all around to start off with. does that sound good to you guys?

(why is it so hard to do this in r/c cars but i can drift "like a pro" in my real cars?)
  5. SpArKeY_STi

SpArKeY_STi Member