New to the scene

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by semaphore, Jul 23, 2005.

1. semaphore

semaphore New Member

Hi guys. I'm new to the hobby and just found out abuot this site by
    visiting the Boston and Maine website. I recieved a trainset (I think it
    was by marx) when I was younger but never got involved in the hobby. I
    always like trains but couldn't tell you much other than that they run on
    rails. .

I'm still debating on what scale to get into. I was thinking about laying
    out an oval with a few switches on a sheet of plywood just to get the feel
    of things and to keep the kids happy. Can any of you point me in the right
    direction to any good track planning books or plans? I don't need anything
    too complicated. I'd like to have some hills and bridges and a few
    industries(there's so many to choose from).
    Any help would be appreciateed.
  2. Chessie6459

Chessie6459 Gauge Oldtimer

Welcome Aboard The-Gauge semaphore. Everyone here is full of information and will be willing to share it.
  3. Tileguy

Tileguy Member

For your first layout, try one of the Atlas Plans in one of thier publications.It will give you a step by step and even tells you how to wire it.
    For someone brand new to the hobby buiding your first layout like this is important to get the feel for the hobby.
    I'm sure you can find one of these at your local hobby shop or on ebay very reasonable. If you cant, let me know.I have 2 copies of the Atlas 6 book.#6 is a real hum dinger.the other 5 are much simpler :)
  4. ezdays

ezdays Out AZ way

Welcome to the Gauge. If it's information you want, or just to talk to a group of friendly people, you've come to the right place.:wave::wave:

For some basic, and very instructional information, go to the NMRA website by clicking here. Some good stuff there, and the price is is good...:thumb::thumb:
  5. Matthyro

Matthyro Will always be re-membered