New To Hobby - Help

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by adguy58, Aug 5, 2006.

1. adguy58

adguy58 New Member

Hello everyone,

I am new to this hobby am interested in the HO scale. I have a collector in my area who is offering me the Union Pacific SD-70M #4357 from Athearn Genesis to get started.

I like the level of detail on this train. I do not intend to buy a lot of trains, but I would like to buy something collectible so I can pass it on. Having a hard time finding information on this locomotive.

Any help you can offer would be appreciated.:)
  2. cidchase

cidchase Active Member

Hi adguy,
    If you do a little searching, you may find that this is a discontinued 2002 release, still
    listed one or two places, but likely not in stock anywhere.
    One currently listed on e-bay NIB bid of 41.57 with 31 hours to go. I don't know if this
    loco is any more or less "collectible" or desirable than the current Genesis offerings of
    the same loco with different road numbers. If you are going to use it, I would worry
    less about its investment value than its utility.
    Trainworld lists "6110 assorted lines" in stock for $99.99. Were I in the market for one
    of these I would go there first.:thumb: :thumb:
    Good Luck, and welcome to The-Gauge!!:wave: :wave:
  3. Russ Bellinis

Russ Bellinis Active Member