New to cardmodeling

Discussion in 'General Card Modeling' started by Lionheart, Dec 28, 2004.

1. Lionheart

Lionheart New Member

Hello all! I'm very new to the card modeling experience. I have been a plastic guy since the 60's and have just discovered how good looking and detailed these card models can be. I've bought a few armor, planes and ship models, Hallinski and GPM. I want to get started on them BUT.... it would be total guess work on my part. As you all know the instructions are in Polish. So, does any one know of a website that someone has that has translated these instructions? I know there are translation sites out there, it would take me forever to enter the words in a few at a time.
    Appreciate the help, and I am so glad to be here!
  2. jleslie48

jleslie48 Member

welcome aboard. careful its very addicting. I generally
    find that the translations are worth the time in retrieving them. Just wing it. Here's a great article by an expert
    builder that I think is pretty accurate:

I also scan my models into the computer. this takes
    away a lot of the fear of destruction factor, if I mess it
    up, I can reprint the part. I can also resize/rescale
    and customize to my hearts content.
  3. jleslie48

jleslie48 Member

whoops that would be NOT worth the time in retrieving.

just some good photographs and diagrams are whats needed.
  4. Lionheart

Lionheart New Member

YES! I had seen this article before, But have never been able to find it again. IT is what first drew me to card modeling. Like the author, I had NO IDEA that this level of detail and the multitude of kits were out there. I have since bought that Halinski P51-D in hopes that I might find this build up article again. I have copied it to my hard drive and will begin tonight. Thank you!
  5. rickstef

rickstef Guest

Check our parts bin, we have a few of the translated directions.

and I think a pdf file of Greg's article

6. Jim Nunn

Jim Nunn Member