New, Small N Layout

Killer R2

Hi. I'm new to the permanant layout idea, and I was wondering what I should do to get started. I have a space from about 2' x 4' to maybe 3'x5'. The smaller, the better. Oh, I don't have a lot of money, so I need to start off with under $100. Please, I NEED HELP! Thanks.

Papa Bear

Welcome to The Gauge, Killer! :wave: You've come to the right place. We have a lot of experienced, friendly, and thrifty modelers on this forum.

Here is a link that I think would help you. It is a tutorial on how to build a small layout in a similar space to what you have. It starts out as a simple loop of track and grows into a fairly complex layout.
http://users.iafrica.com/c/ca/caroper/tutorial/

I think the key is to start small and work your way up. Also, it's usually best to go for reliabilty even if you have to pay a little more. You don't necessarily need to go top of the line, just don't buy any junk because nothing will kill your interest faster than having stuff that doesn't run. Another thing is to read all that you can and don't be afraid to ask questions when you have them.

Hope that helps.

Biased turkey

Welcome to The Gauge Killer R2.
I don't want to disappoint you, but in model railroading ( like in anything ) you get what you pay for. I won't suggest any cheap starter set .
First, a decent train controller ( MRC Tech4 200 ) will cost you ariund 50 $
Any decent Atlas locomotive is around $ 100 ( suggested price ).
I didn't even mention a couple of boxcars and ... some tracks of course.
Sorry, I can't help you with a $ 100 layout.

Killer R2

Thanks for the help. I also forgot to mention that I already have a couple of engines, about 8 freight cars, and basic Bachmann transformer. Besides that, I have never done anything with a pemanent layout at all. I've alway's ran my stuff down at the club, and now I want my own layout, so I do know a little about model railroading. Well, the more help I can get, the better. Thanks!

Killer R2