new modeller

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by bazookie, Dec 5, 2006.

1. bazookie

bazookie Member

hey guys. just registered on this forum. im fairly new to paper modelling and my first model was the free piper cub from fiddlers green. it was horrible as i took a lot of shortcuts and it was very sloppy. then i tried to do a few from mamecraft but i always crush them in fustration before i finish it. can anybody recommend me a free model to start? i don't think i will be paying for a model made out of paper =]

also, how do you guys design these? from what i have read, you use a 3d program and unfold it using that peta-something (forgot the name) or similar program. i downloaded metasequoia and played with it for about a min. any good tutorials and stuff for that? i used to play around on wings 3d so i think i should pick it up pretty fast.

EDIT: my main interest is planes but i also like nice cars, tanks, gundams and other sci fi stuff
  2. paper warrior

paper warrior Member

Welcome To the forum. As for designing, sometimes we use pepakura and metasequioa or other 3d wares but most just go by eye.There are a lot of different design methods out there (check the designer's corner section in the forums.There is a free plane, tank, barn, and house at, and several from kancho's paper wings (wingsbg's site).
  3. Kaz

Kaz Member

When asked about free and easy models, this site always springs to mind models.htm
    however there are no instructions, but refer to the pictures and you cant go wrong.
    Vehicle section is possibly the easiest, and it produced some startlingly clean and accurate models.

4. bazookie

bazookie Member

oh cool thanks man. i want the agitator but it's in production haha. hey i read another thread earlier today regarding wings 3d but i was browsing and didn't really pay attention. if i make a model in wings 3d, will i be able to use a program to unwrap it?
  5. RichBohlman

RichBohlman Railroad Card Modaler