New Member in TX Likes Aircraft

Discussion in 'Zealot Archives' started by GarageSymfony, Jun 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GarageSymfony

GarageSymfony New Member

Hello everyone.

I am a long time model builder, I built my first plastic model (Revell 1:72 X-15 when I was 6) using scotch tape because I didn't want to wait for the glue to dry. Over the years I have built hundreds more, gotten quite a lot of ejoyment out of it, and I got pretty good (if I do say so myself).

I built my first paper models about 10 years ago but I had a lot of trouble with them, I would usually mess them up beyond hope before they were half finished. Regardless, I remained fascinated by photos of paper model aircraft others had built, I was determined to figure it out.

Then I found this forum. By reading reviews to help me select models and the tips and tricks for technique, I have finaly started making some passable models. And it is sooooo fun.

I live in Texas, my other interests are amatuer radio, bicycling, computer music, and regular music (I am a trumpet player).

Although this is my first post, I owe you all a big "thank you" for the positive effect your comments in this forum have had on my enjoyment of paper modeling.

Projects so far:

ModelArt P-40D
    ModelArt MiG-3
    Fiddlers Green PB4Y (John Dell Version)
    Gremir P-47 "Torrid Tessie"
    Gremir Bf-109D
    LS SS Rotterdam (Not an aircraft, an ocean liner)

I look forward to sharing some pictures of these airplanes in the future.
  2. cgutzmer

cgutzmer Guest

Welcome to the fold! Sounds like you have quite a few under your belt already! Looking forward to seeing some of those pics too. :D Glad we were of help getting ya going :)
  3. shoki2000

shoki2000 Active Member

Great to have you here.
    I will be waiting for the photos of Bf 109 and P-47 :mrgreen:
  4. Texman

Texman Guest

Welcome! Glad to see another Texan here. Where abouts are you?