New Here

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by bonny_lass79, Nov 27, 2005.

1. bonny_lass79

bonny_lass79 New Member

Hey everyone. Newbie here. I'm actually here more for research than anything. I've enjoyed model trains growing up although it's been years since I've owned one. I just started dating a guy who's dream is to own a full sized 1920's steam engine like the one he used to drive at Disney. He's also an architecture student who loves designing and building models. I decided that the best thing for him this Christmas is an N scale model. He's still in an apartment, so I'm afraid to get him anything larger, but I don't want him to lose out on details either. Does anyone have ideas on brands or styles? I don't want to spend too much. I'm prepared to probably only buy the track and locomotive for the time being. It's something that I'd like to see him grow with. Any suggestions would be more than welcome. Thanks.
  2. zedob

zedob Member

Hi Bonnie, Welcome Aboard the Gauge.

The Disney locomotives were originally from some of the sugar plantations down in Louisiana. Most of those railroads were narrow guage, as in 3 feet between the rails as opposed to the standard gauge (4ft. 8-1/2") you see today.

IHC makes an HO scale, standard gauge "oldtimer" 4-4-0 loco that is about as low price as you can get, without resorting to ebaying. I can't tell you anything about how well those locos run but they are dressed up in Disney fashion and would probably score you some points. It's larger than N, but it will navigate an 18" radius curve.

Some of the N guys can help you with an N point of view. I don't know what is availble in steam for that scale.

For Christmas, a simple loop of track and a power pack would probably get you by.