New designer

Discussion in 'Zealot Archives' started by STR, Jul 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. STR

STR New Member

Hi everyone. I'm a long time model designer that specialized in scale skyscrapers. My work is shown below.

Patterns can be found at the location below until I launch my website later this year. I hope you enjoy them.

Also, my design methods have worked well for 3 years, but I've met my match: the Fordham spire, a 1,460 foot monster that you might have seen in the news lately. It's proposed for my hometown of Chicago, so I HAVE to make it.

But my design methods are inadequate for this one. I aim to create models that joe anyone can build so 100+ parts (which would be needed for this tower using my process) are out of the question. Anyone that can help me in that regard would have my gratitude. A program capable of unfolding a 3D model made in GMax (or similar CAD) would be great.
  2. Kevin G

Kevin G Member

Since I am no model designer ( I have enough trouble trying to put them together) this may seem like a stupid sugestion but ill put it up here anyways.
    First you look at the whole model as if it was a ships hull. You make formers for the inside that have the twist built into them, then you just apply the skin onto the formers. Hope that is understandable, if not let me know and ill try to explain it better. After that the only thing left is the spire on top and from the picture of your previous model designs it looks like you wouldn't need any suggestions on that part :wink: .
    Great looking models! It still amazes me how you guys design these things. Thanks for the link and for sharing your work.
  3. 46rob

46rob Member

Looks like a tapered drill bit to me. I suggest going down to the local hardware store and studying some large bits ( or go to a flea market and buy a few, cheap)
  4. Gil

Gil Active Member

STR Welcome aboard,

Very nice models and my regards to the designer...,