New Designer from California

Discussion in 'Zealot Archives' started by ECJohnson, Jun 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ECJohnson

ECJohnson New Member

My name is Eric and I have been designing card models for myself for a couple of years and I have decided that it's time to start sharing...

For many years, I made add-on aircraft for Microsoft Flight Simulator (mainly for FS95, FS98 and FS2000). During this time, I had developed around 80 aircraft, including some that went into commercial packages. Ultimately, I got burned out on doing Flight Simulator aircraft and stopped modeling completely for a couple of years.

In 2003, I found the Fiddlersgreen website and I became intrigued with the idea of converting the surface geometery of Flight Simulator planes into a 3D model that could be delivered to any printer in the world...

I like aircraft of all kinds and I prefer 1/72 scale because: 1) It's a good scale for the polygon resolution of the Flight Simulator planes that I have made and 2) I have a limited area to display my models.

Most of my paper model designs are WWI aircraft because I like them and it also seems to be one area in paper modeling that is a little underserved. I have completed 15 paper model designs (including an F-84F, Boeing 727 and Cessna 140) and I will be posting some of them here from time to time for your enjoyment (and critic). You can find my first posted one in the Designer's Corner under the thread 'AD Scout/Sparrow'.

Have Fun!,
  2. kampfflieger

kampfflieger Member

Chief, try to send letter for Jason ( - he is distributor of card models, include digital models.

WWI birds are cool! And 1/72 is my favorite scale!
  3. RyanShort1

RyanShort1 Member

That Cessna 140 sounds intriguing...

4. C Greg

C Greg New Member

Another vote for the Cessna 140!
  5. Ashrunner

Ashrunner Member