New and need advice

dennis_O

May 15, 2005
Hey all, newbie here...

I am new to trains (specifically O scale - sort of trying to relive my youth when my father set up tracks for me and my sister). I am always looking for "deals". As I am still just trying to build up a collection and do not know much, I spend a decent amount of time on ebay. I came across the following seller who is selling a variety of different train cars, accessories and stuff....

(a bunch of different things are listed from this person but the train auctions are what I am looking at)

I was wondering if anyone can shed some light on some of these. Any possible "deals" here?

Thanks!

Hi Dennis,

Welcome! You're exactly in the spot I was in a couple of years ago.

Some advice: See if you can track down a copy of O'Brien's Collecting Toy Trains Identification and Value Guide, fifth edition. While it's a bit dated, it'll give you an idea what something is worth, and it gives you a variety of manufacturers in one place. That'll help keep you from getting into a bidding frenzy and overpaying for common cars (which I've done). I still see the O'Brien guide in bookstores and it's in a lot of libraries too. The Greenberg and TM (McComas) guides are more current but also a lot more specialized.

Also, if you know what you like, try to stick with it. My biggest mistake was running all over the place. Lionel, Marx, prewar American Flyer, Ives... If I liked the looks of it, I bid on it. I won a lot of it. But without knowing much about it, I ended up with a weird mishmash of stuff and not all of it worked together. Buying the stuff you remember from your youth is a good idea. You already have an emotional attachment to it and know something about it. There's plenty of time to branch out after you've tracked down everything on your must-have list within your specialty.