Need your opinion!

Discussion in 'Internet Finds' started by gipovka, Nov 14, 2006.

1. gipovka

gipovka New Member

Hello All,

I am a computer programmer and web developer. I love to do paper models and spend all my free time doing this. I have a lot of scaned models (mostly polish magazines) that I already built and don’t know what to do with it. I have built a web site (not live yet) where people can download it for very low price, no shipping cost and waiting time. The only concern I have is legality. What do you guys think on this matter? Did I wasted my time building it or I can sell it online without warry that I scaned it and selling it? I really need people’s opinion!
  2. rickstef

rickstef Guest

you pretty much wasted your time building that site.

We take a very grim view on piracy.

You can not sell any model kit that is not your own, you did not create the original artwork, you did not print the model, and you did not sell the model kit initially.
    You would be in direct violation of the publisher's copyright.

So the best thing to do is, forget about selling, and support the hobby and industry by buying legitmate produced model kits.

3. Bowdenja

Bowdenja Active Member

Big Waste of Time.
  4. paper warrior

paper warrior Member

Just ask the designer,he'll probably allow it.
  5. rickstef

rickstef Guest

Wrong PW,

selling of any scanned kit is illegal.
    violation of Copyrights

6. Amazyah

Amazyah Senior Member

If you are not going to build the kit again from the scans, best to just delete them. You cannot copy and sell someone else's work. Not only is it illegal, it is immoral, indecent and unethical!

7. ekuth

ekuth Active Member

Having designed one of my own (by hand) I know how much work goes into getting them to turn out right.

If I found someone selling my model on Ebay or elsewhere, I know I'd be slightly... upset. :mad: