Need info on a train for Christmas

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by Kanebaby, Nov 27, 2006.

1. Kanebaby

Kanebaby New Member

I hope someone can help me out. I want to get a train for my kids to go around the Christmas tree. What is the best scale to get? I'm not looking to spend alot of money on it because the kids are young and break everything. I found one at KB Toys that a G scale and it seemed really HUGE, but i saw a HO scale in a hobby shop and that seems really small. I guess i also want to buy scenery and figures for a Christmas village. So what would be the best size for that? The HO figures seem so small, but i think that the G scale train is way too big. Whats the best size train and figures to go under a tree? I know Kohls has lots of figures and villages...most of the figures are around 2" tall....what size train would they go good with? I'm a newbie, so thanks everyone for your help.
  2. LongIslandTom

LongIslandTom Member

You might want to look into O-Scale. It's somewhere in size between HO and G. O are the classic 3-rail Lionel trains most people think about when electric toy trains are mentioned.

O scale ain't cheap though.. But they do tend to take abuse a lot better than HO.

Hope this helps.
  3. Russ Bellinis

Russ Bellinis Active Member

Lionel starter sets at my local hobby shop are @$250.00. You can probably find a better price online. I think Lionel are probably the best for little ones. They are much sturdier than any other train on the market, especially the lower end starter sets.
  4. 60103

60103 Pooh Bah

You can also find Christmas themed trains at the chain stores, sometimes. Usually, these are not expandable. If you can't see extra track/cars/accessories you'll be limited to what comes in the box.
    However, I used these around the tree for a few years. I got a set for under $10. They aren't as sturdy as Lionel, but we don't have children around to damage them.