Need help

Discussion in 'Track Planning' started by Rob24, Mar 27, 2008.

1. Rob24

Rob24 New Member

Hey guys, Please bare with me here I am a big time NOOB! lol....
    I am sure I left out a bunch of info you may need to help....

I finally have an idea of what I want to build. It's going to be HO.
    I am going to start off fairly small. My bench work is going to be a corner setting. It will basically be an "L" shape with two 3x8 sheets of plywood. If my math is right, one side of the "L" will be 5' and the other half will be 11'.
    I am not modeling this after anything inparticular. I would like to put some hills/mountains (because It will be fun to build). I would like two different parts. One being an Iron ore "site". The other part will be an intermodel/container yard. This will require some space as I want to put multiple sidings next to one another to get the real affect.
    Here is my dillema: I tried the Xtrakcad. I really don't have the patience to learn how to use it. I need some help with some track plans. Can anyone help me?
  2. RobertInOntario

RobertInOntario Active Member

Just offhand, I'd suggest going to your Local Hobby Shop -- you can buy small booklets of track plans. Atlas has published several booklets, for example. I have 2-3 such booklets but I basically "winged it" when I built my layout. There was a price to pay for doing this (derailments and a lot of relaying of track)! so following a published guide is probably a good idea! Cheers, Rob
  3. 60103

60103 Pooh Bah

Rob24: Do you envisage any type of continuous running? A 3' wide table limits you to 15" radius curves which are very sharp for HO (18" radius, train set track, is merely "sharp"). This will limit you to short cars and locomotives -- not a problem for Iron Ore cars, but a limiter for intermodal.
    But you may just be thinking of running from one yard to the other. Your 5' section will seem pretty small soon; when planning you need to allow a foot for each turnout.