Need help with glue!!!!

Discussion in 'Tips, Tutorials & Tools' started by stephen.irl, Aug 26, 2009.

1. stephen.irl

stephen.irl Member

I'm pretty new to this hobby and I’ve had a look at some of the glue threads but I’m still a bit lost. At the moment I’m using Loctite super glue (see attached images). While it is very good, dries very quick and has a handy brush in the bottle it leaves very obvious glue marks that look horrible and sort of wreck the look of the model. It’s also pretty expensive (€7 for a 5g bottle).

UHU seems to be the most popular among most of you in Europe but I’m lost in the variety of glue they available. Could someone please point (or kick) me in the right direction with regard to the best glue to use. If you could also include images of the glue so I know exactly what to look for that would be great.

Thanks a million

Attached Files:

2. David H

David H Member

Hi Stephen,

Here are my top adhesive tips...

Everyday white glue or wood-workers glue aka PVA is pretty standard. I am using "Titebond" nowadays but Evostick is similar. You need to dilute it with water as you go and most folk apply it with a small paint brush after mixing some up on a saucer or the like.

UHU Extra is better than UHU and it has its uses but I employ it only occasionally. UHU Extra seems to work well like this: Apply to both surfaces, bring together, take apart, count to 10 then join.

Superglues have their place as do glue sticks (laminating one or two small components) and 3M spray mount when laminating whole A4 sheets to card. I have also used old fashioned contact glues to laminate: Cow Gum used to be the brand but it was withdrawn due to nasty solvents.

3. stephen.irl

stephen.irl Member

Thanks for your advice David. I'll give them a try. I would only really be interested in card modelling. If I use the diluted glues do they have any adverse effects on the card such as soaking?
  4. David H

David H Member

You are on the ball Stephen!