need help on my WIP

Discussion in 'Aircraft & Aviation' started by dvduh, Dec 17, 2008.

1. dvduh

dvduh New Member

Hey guys, i am trying to design my own stir plate for making yeast cultures. a good example of what i am talking about can be found here. I am basically trying to take a project box, attach a nice motor to it (the tutorial above uses a computer fan, i want something that is sturdier) then have a magnet with a hole screwed onto the motors axel. Then i want to wire it through a rheostat so i can control the speed.

My problem is i cannot find a motor for cheap enough, if a computer fan can do this there should be some really cheap motor out there that can handle it. If anyone can help me figure out what kind of motor i need that would be amazing. I also just need a good website to source all this stuff from, but i can seem to find one, i am fairly new to this hobby engineering field.

Attached Files:

2. dvduh

dvduh New Member

To the mods

The reason i posted this in this forum is i figured that aircraft motors might be similar to what i need. If there is a more appropriate forum please move it to there, i just don't know where to put it.
  3. cdavenport

cdavenport Member

What RPM are you wanting to stir the yeast at? Also, do you want AC/DC?
    If it's the latter, a cheap can motor hooked up to an equally cheap DC train speed controller will meet your needs.

If you want to increase the life of the motor and have greater control of your stirrer, put a sheave at the end of the stir shaft and connect the sheave to the motor shaft with a rubber band as the pulley. It'll work like a champ.

You can get everything you need from Hobby Lobby.
  4. dvduh

dvduh New Member

i forget what the adequete rpm was, but is this something that would be listed on the motors box? I have never heard of a sheave, so i will look that up. Would the motor be affected by the magnet? Also, if i wanted to source these parts in the quantity of 100 where should i look.