"N" scale turnout selection help needed!

johnnybsoaring

Jan 13, 2005
Hello!

I'm just beginning the construction phase of our first "N" scale layout. Have built several in HO and currently have a nice "O" highrail. The "N" gauge layout will be under glass in a special giant end table in our den. My biggest concern is the reliability of different "N" scale turnouts. It appears that there are many opinions but I'm down a decision between Peco and the Atlass code 55's. My experiences with the cheap line of Atlas HO turnouts was that of great disgust. I ended up replacing them with Shinohara, the best!

The parameters concerning turnout selection for this "N" scale layout are as follows:

Reliability
DCC compatibility
scale appearance
Would like to use Tortoise Switch machines but not necessary
Modifications that need to be made to make them work properly
Cost

My observations

Atlas 55's win the scale appearance award!

I do not like the look of Peco but they do have a reputation for quality!

I have seen Atlas in operation and they do work good on the layout I viewed!

I am aware that wheel changes will have to be made on some cars to navigate Atlass code 55!

For the switch machine motors the Tortoise is very bulky and may be impossible to use under the plans elevated track, so what other options do I have here other than hiding them in the bushes?

I need to get some turnouts to put on my full size template to start roadbed construction so any opinions or suggestions on turnout selection or the code 55 flex track would be greatly appreciated gys!

Johnny "B"

grumbeast

Jan 13, 2003
Dartmouth, N.S. Canada
www.accesswave.ca
Hi Johnny,

Given that the layout will be under glass I would definately go with the Peco, they have a selection of Code55 switches in N too. Peco are exceptionally reliable and almost indistructable, I'm still using some that are over 20 years old and on thier 5th layout.